The Washington Post recently published an article on a foodie trip to New York.  It wasn’t the list of nosher highlights I’d hoped to read, but one journalist’s weekend trip to New York and where/when he ate. I mean, really? How do I land a gig this cushy? 

Career jealousy aside, the article mentioned two specific things Mike and I want to do on our next weekend to DC’s cool cousin: a foodie walking tour and, specifically, a trip to The Pickle Guys.  Imagine it: an entire shop dedicated to nothing but pickles! Half sours, horseradish pickels, sweet gherkins… plus an unending array of olives, peppers and pickeled tomatoes. My salt tooth is going into overdrive just imagining it.

This is one of my favorite aspects of NYC – the sheer force of this city’s populace and its ability to support singularly dedicated shops. Why choose the single risotto on the menu in your favorite Italian place when you can head right to the Risotteria and select from a menu of dozens? Can’t be bothered to make a PB&J at home? Skip on over to Peanut Butter & Co and they’ll make you a designer peanut butter sandwich for the bargain basement price of $7. Once you’ve polished it off, head over to Rice to Riches for a lovely, generously portioned rice pudding dessert.  Bonus: you get to keep their crazy space-aged tupperware! [On a side note, can we talk about the crazy Wizard of Oz-esque intro on the Rice to Riches homepage? I wonder what they paid for that.]

I know this isn’t even the tip of the iceberg lettuce when it comes to dining in New York but sometimes I just find the singularity available there exciting and baffling. Kind of like watching Cirque du Soleil for the first time. All these places I just listed? We didn’t seek them out; we’ve just run across them while wandering the city. Lord knows what other esoteric specialties await discovery.  If I ever get three wishes from a genie, I think one of them will have to be dedicated to visiting New York on a bottomless stomach with a budget to rival NASA.

Pickle Guys
49 Essex St
New York, NY 10002

Rice To Riches
37 Spring St
New York, NY 10012
Rice To Riches on Urbanspoon

Risotteria
270 Bleecker St
New York, NY 10014
Risotteria on Urbanspoon

Peanut Butter & Co.
240 Sullivan St
New York, NY 10012
Peanut Butter & Co on Urbanspoon