The modest container garden continues to shock and amaze us! Mike and I enjoyed our first home grown produce of the season last night, straight from our itsy bitsy strawberry patch.

I’ve always been under the impression that strawberry plants need plenty of ground cover to produce any fruit. We  just picked these up on a lark to see how they’d do. Now that I can see how the strawberries took to the full sun on our deck, I wish we’d planted even more.  I doubt this year’s harvest will produce anything more than the occassional snack, but it’s fun to see them grow and ripen.

I have a lot of day dreams about a home with a yard. Right now we live on Capitol Hill in DC and we have a nice little deck, big enough for to have some friends over for a casual dinner and containers that can support herbs, fruit and flowers. We’re lucky to have it and try to take advantage of it as much as possible. Still… I yearn for a big backyard where I can really take advantage of the DC climate and grow some gorgeous things. I’m always telling Mike “One day, when we have a yard we’ll plant….” fill in the blank. My promises have ranged from peach trees to apple trees to a full blown vegetable garden (hmm, all things we can eat. Coincidence?). This day dream now includes a strawberry patch. Nothing huge, just enough to make a couple of daiquiris for friends.

I’m also really inspired by Poste’s Robert Weland, who is taking advantage of Poste’s gorgeous patio to start a garden for the retaurant. While I know this can’t possibly support all of the restaurant’s produce needs, its exciting to peek back there at his various lettuce and herb patches. I’m already looking forward to planting some arugula on the deck next spring, to make our salads as close-to-home as possible.

Oh and the biggest fan of our new strawberry patch? Murphy. Strawberry tops are, inexplicably, his favorite treat.  He is on his best behavior while I pick our two ripest berries.