I thought I could handle it.

“I can quit anytime I want,” I told myself and others.

I shrugged off the evidence – falling asleep at the keyboard while writing a review (or two), dragging Elizabeth on detours to find out-of-the-way shops and farms while on vacation.

But I’ve finally hit rock bottom.  I’m ready to admit it.  I have a problem.

My epiphany moment came about three hours ago, when I found myself smiling broadly as I received a small crottin of goat cheese from a (not really) shady van with a license plate that read “GO GOATS.”  All I can say in my defense is: I’m pretty sure you would have done exactly the same thing if you were in my shoes.

This particular van happened to be driven by one Brad Parker, the goat cheese guru whose Pipe Dreams Farms produce some of the most delicious and sought-after goat cheese on the East Coast.  Even without a website, Parker’s goat cheese has developed a cult-like following among foodies, chefs, and chevrophiles.  Name a local restaurant that offers a cheese plate – Blue Duck Tavern, Proof, Poste, Zaytinya – and there’s a good chance the goat cheese they’re serving is Pipe Dreams.  It tends to sell out as soon as they can get it in at Cheesetique and Cowgirl Creamery.  This is a goat cheese made by goat cheese lovers for goat cheese lovers.

So maybe you can forgive me for my weakness (I hope Parker can forgive me for going all ‘fanboy’ on him outside Poste).  It started out with a simple enough question: “Are you Brad Parker?”  Once he confirmed he was, it was all downhill as I professed my love for his cheese and then proceeded to chat with him about where I’ve eaten it in DC and he proceeded to graciously humor me. 

I suspect it was as much to extricate himself from the situation as anything else that he offered me some cheese, but whatever the reason I’m exceedingly grateful.

I’m not sure that there’s any kind of twelve-step program for this, but I think I’m finally ready to admit I have a problem and put myself in the hands of a Higher Power.  Of course, if that Higher Power can’t make goat cheese as good as Pipe Dreams, I’m not making any promises…