DC-area chefs, restaurateurs, and other muckety-mucks  weighed in on their 2011 food resolutions…giving you a sneak peek into what’s coming to a menu near you.

“Waste even less and also start foraging whenever possible.”
-Chef Robert Weland
Poste

“My New Year’s resolution is to find a way to fit more hours into the day.”
– Tiffany MacIsaac, Executive Pastry Chef
Neighborhood Restaurant Group including Birch and Barley and Buzz Bakery

“More balance in my life.  Drink more good wine.”
– Chef/Owner Dean Gold
Dino Restaurant

“Cure more meats. Plant more. Pickle more. Utilize more whole animals. At home, I want to brew my own beer and eat breakfast.”
– Chef Dennis Marron
Jackson 20 and The Grille at Morrison House

“A  major resolution this year is to spend more time with farmers, fishermen and producers and grow our list of local producers.  We are already working with some of the best and we want to add to that list and grow the program.”
– David Varley, Executive Chef
BOURBON STEAK

“To take my passion for food and beer to the next level.”
– Executive Chef Teddy Folkman
Granville Moore’s Gastropub

“Not use the word sustainable in 2011.”
– Chef Todd Gray
Equinox Restaurant and Todd Gray’s Watershed (opening spring 2011)

“I know diners love to meet the chef preparing their food and I find it just as much a thrill to meet those eating what we prepare. I’m resolving to be in two places at once in 2011 – the kitchen and the dining room!”
– Chef Dave Morel
7th St. Legal Sea Foods

“So interestingly enough, my foodie resolution (and non foodie resolution) is to eat out alone more. I am often so entranced by who I am with that I completely miss what I am eating and the joy in it. The non foodie part (just for you guys) is that I want to be more social – and sitting at a bar eating might encourage me to talk to randoms. ’cause, you know, I am not social at all…”
– Leah Daniels (owner)
Hill’s Kitchen
“Having two restaurants under my belt now, I have been afforded the opportunity to have assembled a great kitchen managment staff.   My resolution is to really utilize the talent to take both restaurants to the next level. My idea is to start by taking local food trips to farms and restaurants to enhance our think tank which will help in future menu development. Growing as a restaurant for us is really about growing individually and as a team.”
Steve Mannino, Executive Chef
Rustico
“My new years resolution is to exercise portion control when eating Prosciutto di Parma and to launch a breakfast menu as an ode to my grandmother Nancy’s early morning creations from growing up.”
-Chef Casey Taylor Patton (co-owner)
Taylor Gourmet
“Winning our first Grand Championship on the BBQ Competition circuit and successful opening our first Pork Barrel BBQ restaurant.”
– Heath Hall (co-owner)
Pork Barrel BBQ
“To bring the authentic taste of Belgium to the US with Genever, Belgium’s most celebrated and national spirit.”
– Veronique Beittel, Importer
Diep 9 Genever
“I plan on expanding the Evening Star Cafe garden and will try to use only the tomatoes, cucumbers, squashes, herbs and lettuce I plant post spring. I also plan on unveiling my new bread program at Star. This year, I’d like to involve more of my staff to volunteer at local programs that promote healthy eating in children and I’d like to continue to educate as many people as I can about healthy children’s food.”
– Will Artley, Executive Chef
Evening Star Cafe

“This year, I resolve to eat more salad, pizza, miniburgers,  rockfish, poptarts and hotdogs and then be sure to sign up for the Marine Corps Marathon!”
– Perry Smith, Co-Owner
Matchbox, Ted’s Bulletin, DC-3

“Drink more beers. It’s exciting to see more and more variety around town and it will continue to be a resolution of mine to try everything I can get my hands on.  I know I’m a coffee guy but this really is an ongoing resolution.”
– Ryan Jensen, Owner
Peregrine Espresso